Testimonials from 2008-09 Clients

Testimonials from 2008-09 Clients

col-center-n

LBS Sloan

(translation follows)
このたび2010年1月からのLBSのSloanコースに合格することが出来ました。TOEFLiBTを40回以上、さらには2月末から半年以上105点という条件付合格からの繰り上がりのために、死ぬほどTOEFLの勉強をし続けた結果やっと合格をいただきました。長くて苦しい受験生活から解放されて振り返ると、やはりBryanは最高のカウンセラーでした。私は1校目のエッセイを別の予備校のカウンセラーと作成いたしました。

しかしどうにも効率が悪く、また相性も悪く、品質も納得できないものとなってしまいました。アイデア出しもまったくスムーズに行かず、最も重視したいディテールをばっさりカットされ、どこかで見たことがあるような個性の無いエッセイが出来上がりました。友人に紹介されたブライアンにすがる思いでお願いし、1枠を開けていただきました。

それ以降は目からうろこの連続でした。彼の際立った所は、

・ヒアリング能力の高さ

・効率よい仕事の進め方

・高い文章能力

の3点になります。この3点のおかげで世界で一つだけのどこの誰にも負けないと強く思えるエッセイを苦痛なく作成することが出来ました。また、ユーモアもあり人柄も良いBryanは、よきコーチでもありました。試験結果やアイデアが煮詰まった時にも激励いただき、手を差し伸べてくれましたし、

一方で中だるみのような状態の時には、叱咤して鼓舞してくれました。このようなカウンセラーは他には絶対にいません。
もちろんフラットレートの安心感と、細かい部分でのメールでの問い合わせに対する信じられないくらいのレスポンスタイムの速さ、楽しみながらも的確なコメントを頂き直前も親身に対応してくれたインタビュートレーニングなど、どれをとっても他とは比べ物になりません。私は最後まで迷惑をおかけしただめな生徒でしたが、そんな私を見捨てずに指導いただけたことに感謝しております。

本当にありがとう!

(TRANSLATION)

I was finally accepted by LBS Sloan starting in January of 2010. I was accepted previously, however, it was with the condition that I score higher than TOEFL 105 within 6 months. So I studied and studied for TOEFL and took the test more than 40 times. As a result, I was able to fulfill the condition.

Now that I am released from the long, tough examination hell and can look back at the past, I really think Bryan was the best counselor. I wrote my first essay with another counselor working at an MBA prep school. Soon I figured out that it was not efficient, and I did not click with the counselor. The quality of the essay was not satisfying. Our communication was not  smooth, he cut off the most important details for me, and the essay turned out to be ordinary. It sounded the same as everyone else’s essay and it did not have unique personality.

My friend introduced me to Bryan. I asked if he had space available. I was desperate for any help. Since then it has been an eye-opening process.

The three high points of Bryan’s work are —

1. The strong ability to understand what you are trying to explain
2. Great efficiency
3. High quality of writing

Because of these three great points, I was able to write the only essays that could defeat other candidates.

Furthermore, Bryan has a good sense of humor and good personality. He was also a good coach for me. When I suffered a setback from bad test results or lack of essay ideas, Bryan was always helpful. Also, when I was in a slump, he scolded and inspired me nicely. There will never exist such a great counselor anywhere else.

Of course, nothing can compare with his services: reliable flat rate, incredibly fast response, and sincere interview training. Despite the last minute request right before my interview day, Bryan took care of the training and gave me precise advice. I really enjoyed it. I know I was a difficult client and bothered him a lot, but I appreciate that Bryan did not abandon me and guided me until I passed.

Thank you very much!

col-center-n

HEC (w/ partial scholarship)

Sunday, 9 August 2009

Now I have finished two-year application process for MBA. I have a feeling that each applicant’s background that cannot be changed at the timing of application including professional life, age, and sex actually affects results. However, Bryan has helped me tap my potential. I would recommend to prospective MBA applicants that Bryan is one of the most reliable partners who boost your opportunity to change your life. Looking back my cooperation with some other famous counselors in Japan (one is for a comprehensive work until second round, two are for interview preparations), Bryan has decisive strengths in his capability and sincerity.

Competence
Bryan is a person of great discernment, which is corroborated by his agility in counseling. Since he understands me well through the talk during which he mildly brings about my own story, he advises me to take up the best topic promptly for each question in essay and interview. He also reviews quickly my draft and gives me feedback to the point. The caliber of counseling is the most important prominent quality to him.

The difference between Bryan and others is due mainly to the three perspectives; 1) for a paragraph, sentence, or even a phrase, he efficiently utilizes the allotted space with detailed story that differentiates the client from others. He does not fill in a space with vague adjectives or adverbs or general comments that other applicants can describe. 2) Trying to create a unique story, I sometimes come to s standstill, where he usually gives me constructive suggestions during the counseling and beforehand via emails. He is never just a critic. 3) He gives instructive answers to me for any question that I have in preparing applications. His well explained emails are often more informative than the face-to-face counseling with another counselor. Not only did I get accepted at a chosen program, but Bryan also helped me get a partial scholarship.

One of my other counselors was good at tailoring a future career with reality and ambition, but fatally weak in preparing a strong essay and the slow pace resulted in higher cost and submitting fewer applications. Another was good at finding faults of logic but poor at providing constructive opinion, which often puzzled and perplexed me immediately before the application or interview. The other is as competitive as Bryan, but for just a tiny question he tries to demand fee by ten minutes. By contrast, Bryan is committed to help clients prepare themselves to be strong applicants. His dedication is well balanced with business-mind. This is one more point in which Bryan is of really help to me and I have trusted him.

Wholeheartedness
Not only is Bryan talented in counseling but he is also dedicated to give assistance to those who are eager to change their lives. He adopts flat-rate fee, which is a relief for clients, especially for self-sponsored applicants. Others usually try to extend the counseling time, aiming to expand their sales. But you do not have to mind the increase of cost because you can take the necessary number of counseling with high caliber to get acceptances at “elite essays”. Certainly 600k to 900k yen is not cheap shopping. In my opinion, MBA applicants can prepare for many areas of GMAT or TOEFL by themselves if they have academic ability. However, this is not the case with preparing essays or interviews for many Japanese applicants if they do not have plentiful international experience. Just one misunderstanding of the question or mal-choice of the topic will give you denial email. The application is so competitive. Collaboration with good counselor will prevent you from failing into such traps. As far as I know, Bryan is the only counselor who works with fixed cost without the limit of the number of the counseling, which enables you to concentrate on applications.

Furthermore, making use of emails, Bryan gave responses to my drafts and questions quickly, usually in an hour to half-day. The distance between California and Japan matters little. Rather I had opportunities to take counseling off working hours, at midnight or early in the morning and successfully utilizing time efficiently by omitting commute. I do not have to stay in Tokyo, or even during business trip I can get distinct counseling. This would be impossible when a counselor offers his service mainly face-to-face.

I did not choose Bryan at first because I assumed that I could deepen essay by writing in Japanese and that the website of elite essays is too excellent and informative to believe in the quality of his counseling. From my past experience, a good first impression is often turned out to be deceptive. But Bryan has amazingly overturned my perspectives, which is to my great pleasure. My six-month experience with Bryan shall be beneficial in my life at business school as well as the MBA application.

col-center-n

Instituto Empresa (IE, $10,000 Scholarship)

Tuesday, 2 June 2009

I think that Bryan is the supreme essay counselor and “god” in the MBA application industry. Although my test score (GMAT and TOEFL) and GPA was low, I was able to turn back this adverse situation by my strong Essay & Interview. This totally owes to Bryan’s sophisticated and unique Essay counseling & Interview training.
Without you, I would not be able to pass IE. I am really impressed with your attitude toward devoting to your clients’ success.

To tell you the truth, at first, I wondered whether I chose you as an Essay counselor. Since I could not speak English well and your counseling style was Skype-based, I was doubtful that I could communicate well with you and you could understand my idea & opinion. I tried to seek another Essay counselor, but as you provide clients trial-period (4 times), so I gave it a try, thinking that if I dissatisfied your service, I would cancel it.

However, my dubiousness cleared in your first time counseling. Your approach was to the point and easy to understand, and you also understood my idea & opinion well despite my poor English. I was always profoundly moved to your advice & indication and could not forward my application without you. I always heard from other MBA applicants saying that Essay is so tough that you should engrave it in your mind. That concern proved unfounded. In my application process, the preparation for TOEFL and GMAT was laborious, but the preparation for Essay with you was the most exciting and interesting phase. Furthermore, through your essay counseling & interview training in English, I was considerably able to increase my TOEFL score (especially speaking and listening). Then, I was able to remove the complex that I could not speak English well.

There are many episodes that I cannot forget through our work.

For example・・・

At the last minute of my submitting IE application form on the web, I found that my Essay words were exceeding word limits, so I had to cut some words. I asked you to help me ASAP by e-mail. Then, you helped me and finished cutting words and modifying them in a few hours. At that time, I thought you are a “super-man”.

Since my speaking was weak, we did interview training about 20 times. Thanks to this intensive training (though it was tough), I could do well in actual interview.

After my interview was over and I was waiting for the result, you periodically asked me my situation and gave advice sincerely.

When I was finally admitted by IE, you were delighted as if it were your success and you even helped my writing IE scholarship essay. These are the unforgettable wonderful memories at this distance in time.

In closing, thank you very much for wonderful service and enjoyable counseling time!! I can say with certain that you are the most sophisticated Essay counselor.

col-center-n

Instituto Empresa (IE)

Sunday, 10 May 2009

Hi, Bryan.

I am very happy to have an opportunity to thank you for great consulting services and support beyond helping my essays.

He is a true professional as an MBA counselor. He knows how to play the game and how to win. By working with clients from various backgrounds and various needs, he knows exactly how to help his clients upon. For a total MBA novice like me, he guided me through from the very beginning of making an appealing resume. By the time I completed the essays, I was confident and well prepared for exactly what I needed to do. My GMAT score was below 600, but I was confident about the set of essays and resume I developed with Bryan. They were great and covered my GMAT score disadvantage, enabling me to promote my personal experience and work history, and show I am qualified for the program.

He is very accessible and reliable all the time. Whenever I needed him he was next to me. Once, I had a very tight schedule for an application, I had to complete 2 letters of recommendation and 10 essays within 10 days. He helped me to complete this almost impossible work. His response is quick and the quality of output is uncompromised. Even though we are living in different time zones, I never had trouble getting help from him.

To me, my relationship with Bryan is similar to being friends. He is easy to talk to and has a great sense of humor. I enjoyed talking with him a lot; I think this made the process really easy. Through conversations with him, he helped me to pull ideas out and developed these ideas into essays smoothly. Preparing an MBA application is stressful and tough work, I was helped by his encouraging advice and support many times. Without his support, I could not have made it.

Again, thanks Bryan. I was very happy to work with you.

col-center-n

Wharton

Friday, 8 May 2009

With only a 640 on my GMAT, only Bryan could have led me to top schools like Wharton. The essence of Bryan’s counseling service is maximizing a client’s personality through a customized approach. Especially in developing essays and interview preparation, I can guarantee that you will find Bryan’s advantages.

Beyond Comparison
Most importantly in essays, telling your own story is mandatory to differentiate yourself and capture interests of Admissions Office. Bryan is professional in stretching client’s potential through his casual interviewing technique, and helping him/her express themselves attractively in writing. Whenever an essay seems flat he asks good questions that sharpens vague content to become vivid. From breaking down content to expanding the realm of your story, essays become very persuasive. His courteous counseling approach identifies story’s background information. He encourages easy-to-understand yet beautiful phrases based on his journalism experience, which adds depth and enthusiasm that leads to powerful essays.

Integrity
The key to successful interviews is good preparation and practice. His clients are ready to begin after a continuous process of developing essays through face-to-face and Skype discussions. Along with this strong foundation, his interview training program focuses on polishing exact responses through his “one sentence story approach,” adaptable for both basic and applied questions. The correspondence between essays and interview responses makes clients very confident in the real interview. Just before interview season, he held web conferences with his past successful clients that helped many of us learn more about schools. Consequently, my interview results, including schools other than Wharton, were successful with no denials.

Satisfaction
Respect, joy, and friendship with Bryan through the counseling process made my application packages incredibly competitive. If it had not been for Bryan, I would not have been successful and enjoyed this tough MBA application process. I strongly hope that all perspective applicants find a great counselor like him!

col-center-n

UCLA Anderson

Wednesday, 6 May 2009

When I decided to apply for an MBA program, I only had three months before the deadline. I was half panicked, since I had to choose which schools to apply to, and prepare for GMAT, TOEFL, and essays. But then I found Bryan-san on the internet, wrote to him, spoke with him via skype, and asked him to help me. The reason I chose him as my one and only counselor was that he sounded very sincere and professional. And I was totally right.

Among many greatness of his advice, I would like to highlight especially about his keen sense of honesty. His approach made me realize and understand deeply about my own vision and my accomplishments. I didn’t feel uncomfortable writing my essays since he encouraged me to be myself. And when I was ‘lost’ and not able to find a strong episode, he always gave me useful advice which made me think from new aspects or dig deeper. He asked sharp questions which made me think hard, and he had a very sharp sense in avoiding ‘not right’ kind of episodes.

Also, interview practices were very helpful. He quickly figured out that I had a tendency to talk a lot (including many details that were unnecessary), and he suggested I practice my answers in ‘one sentence’. This was very helpful. And the interview practice itself was very ‘real’ in a sense that I could imagine myself sitting in front of an admission officer.

Last but not least, I would like to stress that Bryan-san helped someone who had only three months before the deadline to get accepted, and this is saying a lot. If you have one good counselor you can trust, then you don’t need any other. You just need to stay focused and keep your spirits high. If you are wondering which counselor you would like to ask for help, just speak with Bryan-san, and you’ll know what I mean.

col-center-n

UNC Kenan Flagler MBA

Thursday, 30 April 2009

Guiding me out from my vague MBA desire to structure a solid short/long-term career goal, Bryan offers excellent coaching skill and goes beyond an essay counselor with strong editing skill. With no exception, MBA preparation is a rigor, but if there’s one thing I enjoyed besides the acceptances, it would be the transactions I had with Bryan to best capture myself and present it in the form of writing.

Yes, it’s hard for applicants to determine where to set the milestones, and Bryan understands that. He is extremely experienced with consolidating students’ diverging career goals, and positively pushed me to aim higher by combining as short-term goal what I originally had for both short and long-term. I have worked slightly longer than others with Bryan, and the altering responsibilities at work during that period has fluctuated the content of my essays. Bryan took time to work very closely with me until those improvements were fully reflected to the essays. “We might have to go back to ABC school essay, and change XYZ.” What matters to him, and certainly to us, is not whether essays are in “good shape,” but whether they are in “the best shape.”

Bryan is extremely student-oriented. Things don’t always go as you scheduled. GMAT might give you a harder time, or you might decide to apply to a new school a week before the deadline, but Bryan will more than respond to your seriousness until the very last moment. At the end, however, things must be completed on time. “So far, we’ve finished two schools and started a third. That’s not bad, but I’d like to see faster progress.” He is dedicated to students’ success, and will push you when you are not working to his expectations.

Who would you like to be working with at the toughest moments? His candid attitude and considerate personality makes him the best to work with. It was reflected to his immediate responses, frank and precise opinions and advices, kind greeting when I wasn’t doing great on GMAT, consideration to set an interview preparation the nights before my actual interviews, and above all, the understanding of me, my thoughts, my weakness, my strength, and how to become the best applicant to my potential.

I cannot thank Bryan enough for all his support and being such a reliable counselor. It’s a process of knowing yourself, and truly contemplating who you want to become. And, if you think now is the time to make your investment, work with Bryan. By the end, he is your best friend, and will probably know “why you” more than you know it yourself.

col-center-n

Stanford GSB (w/ full fellowship) & Harvard Kennedy School of Government

Wednesday, 29 April 2009

Bryan greatly shifted my odds of success in my business school applications. In my case, although my vision was clear (at least for me), it was non-traditional and difficult to let others understand. I needed someone who could understand my unique vision and shape my ideas to fit business school application. The challenge was to balance both my uniqueness and fit.

Bryan was the one. His open-minded attitude gave me confidence to tell him my ideas and develop them more deeply. He is a great listener, listening to details carefully, with much respect, and most importantly, out of his real curiosity. One time when I asked him, “Why are you doing essay counseling?” he told me because he just loves to hear stories and know people deeply. His genuine curiosity definitely distinguishes his counseling from others. By this way, I was able to look into my heart and strengthen my uniqueness.

Bryan is not only a great listener, he also gives well-reasoned critiques. While I wanted to embrace my ideas, I was not sure if they were acceptable in a business school application. Bryan’s more than 10 years counseling experience and clear feedback got rid of my anxiety. When I was still struggling to change minor things to make my essay “perfect,” he advised me, “The time you spend re-writing things that are already strong is time taken away from more important things.” This advice rescued me from never-ending editing.

As a result, I was able to gain the toughest scholarship and business school admission. Thank you, Bryan!

col-center-n

MIT Sloan

Tuesday, 28 April 2009

I have been longing to write a thank you letter to Bryan, and finally my dream came true! Thank you very much for your support through out the process. Until September 2008, I worked with another counselor, whom I found was not very helpful to me, and therefore I know Bryan’s excellence compared to other counselors. I want to focus on the difference between Bryan and other MBA counselors.

Quality
Bryan provided me with the most precise understanding of essay questions, and therefore I could write the essays that admission committees really want to read. He also told me many interesting stories and information which are related to my future goal, and therefore I could expand my essays through our conversations. In addition, through counseling with Bryan, I found my own characteristics and strengths that I hadn’t recognized. I was very surprised at his sharpness.

Speed
His editing is very speedy and accurate. I don’t have to wait for a few days in order to get edited drafts even in the busiest period. I think one of the reasons why I could write essays for 6 schools after December is Bryan’s speedy editing. I received a satisfying GMAT score in December and I wanted to apply in the 2nd round. To be honest, I was not sure whether I could complete the essays by the deadlines, but Bryan supported me with his best work.

Flat rate

Bryan adopts a flat rate system which includes school selection, essay counseling, editing, and interview training. Therefore I could discuss with him until I’m really convinced without extra fees. Regarding the interview training, I had approximately 20 sessions, so I could prepare for many types of interview questions.

Fun!
The sessions with Bryan are just fun! He is very intelligent and well-rounded. I really enjoyed discussing and chatting with him. As I mentioned before, I found my hidden characteristics and strengths through sessions with Bryan, and it’s because he is a very nice person and I could talk about myself and my ideas without hesitation.

Thank you again, Bryan!

col-center-n

Harvard Graduate School of Education

Tuesday, 28 April 2009

If not for Bryan Shih, I probably wouldn’t have had the opportunity to choose between Harvard Graduate School of Education, Stanford University School of Education, and several other top schools. Although he specializes in B-School applications, Bryan also knew what the Schools of Education were looking for in a master’s candidate, and helped me write much better essays. He nicely yet directly told me why my first draft would not do. He then helped me identify the common thread in my experiences and reflect on my work and interests to better visualize my path from before grad school through to a career choice, and articulate it in my Statement of Purpose. With Bryan’s help I was able to describe my most interesting experiences in a way that exemplified my professionalism and uniqueness, show how I could contribute to the programs, and express my future goals after obtaining my master’s degree. The difference between my first draft and my final essay was a revelation, and I can’t thank Bryan enough for that!

col-center-n

UCLA Anderson

Tuesday, 28 April 2009

I truly appreciate Bryan and his counseling service and highly recommend him to future applicants.

One of his best points is his enthusiasm toward his clients. Because this year was truly competitive, I needed to apply to many schools. Bryan worked with me not only during regular time, but also even at midnight on Christmas or New Years Day. No matter how busy he was, he edited my drafts in only a few days, and gave me adequate comments. He always motivated me, and when he heard about my good news, he was truly pleased with it. I think that he is not only proud of his job of the counseling service, but he also loves his job and his clients. If I had consulted other counselors as my main counselor, I could not have applied to 10 schools and could not have received many admissions.

In addition, I was free to modify the counseling service to suit my needs. For example, when I had to meet admissions director unexpectedly, he changed the schedule to give me interview training. When I spared some time off, he increased frequency of counseling.

Although I contracted with three counselors in order to complete essay and interview for admission, he was obviously my core counselor. He is every reason why I am going to an excellent school.

col-center-n

Georgetown McDonough

Tuesday, 28 April 2009

I am delighted to write a testimonial for your website and appreciate your strategy and enthusiastic support during the whole process. I began to write essays very late because I struggled with GMAT until the last minute, but we managed the process well and finally could develop a lot of essays for 14 schools quickly and systematically (as a result, I was invited to interview at almost all of the schools and was admitted by a lot of them).

During the process, I was under great stress and sometimes could not control my work because of the low GMAT score, but you were always calm and provided clear advice about how to manage the process, and always encouraged me to accomplish my goal. We used the strategy to start with lower ranked schools with similar questions and then after I got a satisfactory GMAT score at the last minute, we could complete tougher schools’ essays immediately. I tried to develop as sharp first drafts as possible, because I wanted to respond to your enthusiastic support. The process of writing essays was really tough for me but I always enjoyed your counseling because of your excellent work and friendly personality, and I believe that the process we managed was the product of good teamwork.

Again, I appreciate your strategy and enthusiastic support and am totally satisfied with your counseling. If I had the same chance to choose a counselor, I would definitely choose Bryan again.

col-center-n

Chicago Booth Executive MBA

Tuesday, 28 April 2009

With a career spanning over twenty years, I had many stories that I could have told in my essays. But I was not sure which episodes or achievements would be most appealing to school admissions. With his seasoned background as a business reporter at the Financial Times, Bryan was excellent in asking me acute questions to help me identify the best stories that made me different from other applicants.

His other extreme strength is his strong commitment to his clients. He was always really quick in responding to my requests, even when he was not in Tokyo. This was tremendously helpful when I wanted to make last minute changes before submitting applications.

Without his appropriate support and advice provided in a timely manner, I would not have completed such appealing essays for my applications, and probably could not have matriculated to the Chicago Booth Executive MBA program.

col-center-n

Wharton

Tuesday, 28 April 2009

The MBA application process was almost torture, but thanks to Bryan’s kind support, I could overcome every difficulty and win the best result, admission from Wharton.

First, I like his all-in-one package style. I did not have to worry about additional fees for additional application and interview preparation. In my case, I was placed on many waitlists (Kellogg, MIT, and Berkeley) and had to write push letters. However, Bryan always welcomed additional sessions. I also appreciate his flexibility about scheduling. I work for a management consulting company, and was extremely busy, but I was able to have sessions even at midnight, and I could change my schedule when necessary.

Second, I like his counseling approach. He always did his best to listen to me and led me to find exciting stories which I could not come up with by myself. He was a good listener and the best discussion partner for me. Before I met Bryan, I had the chance to work with one of the most famous MBA counselors among Japanese applicants. His counseling service was also good, but honestly I felt that his style was too rigid and domineering.

Again, I appreciate his kind support for everything and am completely satisfied with his service. If I had the chance to advise my friend about a counselor, I would definitely recommend Bryan to him.

col-center-n

Wharton

Sunday, 12 April 2009

Dear Bryan,

After struggling a year from GMAT studies, essay writing and interview training, at last I have reached that moment when I can close my files, give away my text books, and throw away my memos and notes. But before moving on to the next step, I have to finish a final task, and that is writing this final thank you letter to you, Bryan. This is the final task of my MBA application process, and it is all dedicated for you.

Results
I was able to apply to five schools in the first round, three in October, two in December, and to four schools in the second round, for a total of nine applications. Out of the nine applications, I have been invited to an interview for seven schools, and by excluding the two schools which I withdrew my application due to higher-ranking school admits, I was admitted to all the five schools which invited me to an interview. I think that my high interview invitation rate was all due to the high quality application package, and I definitely couldn’t have accomplished this result without your guidance and support. I was an average Japanese applicant from an average Japanese company, but could stand out and shine because I was able to retain the best counselor with the strongest track record among counselors known to Japanese applicants. I would like to articulate that choosing a counselor and developing a good relationship is definitely the key success to being admitted to high-ranking schools with tough competition to overcome. The following are two features of Bryan’s services which I think make him special, and stand out from other counselors.

Flexibility
Bryan can manage the schedule and get everything done by the deadline. And I personally think that this is due to Bryan’s flexibility. I was able to send out my first application on October 6th, while starting the application process on September 17th. This is an amazingly short preparation period, since it was my first application, and I didn’t have any core essays which usually are used as foundations for essay development. I heard from other predecessors that the initial application package development process usually takes about one to one and a half months, but I was successful to do it in half of that time. I think that this is due to Bryan’s professionalism, speedy editing, and intensive counseling. I would like to point out that this is not what every applicant can accomplish, but if you can commit yourself to achieve this tight schedule, Bryan can respond to you. This is a very important point because other institutional preparation schools cannot respond to the applicant’s requirements since they lack flexibility. My friend who went to “prep-school I,” could only meet with his essay counselor on Tuesdays and Fridays. On the other hand, I met with Bryan three to four days in September and October. I understand that this wouldn’t be the case at top season, like December or January, but my point is that Bryan is willing to respond to the client’s requirements as much as possible, and institutional rules will not determine the schedule.

Great understanding towards the MBA application process
Bryan understands what is asked, how and what to respond, what is special, and what is dull. As long as you keep thinking deeply, produce ideas and put them down on paper, Bryan will evaluate them properly. When you apply to top schools, the questions are going to get more complicated, and which experiences are applicable will depend on your understanding of this complicated process. Who are your competitors, who will read this essay, what kind of people are ADCOMS? Bryan will keep asking you until you have the proper image in your mind.

Bryan is not an essay editor; he is an MBA application advisor. Bryan can advise you on developing your own marketing strategy by adjusting the horizontal and vertical threads to complete your “Superman Cape” which you will need to fly. He understands the “wholistic” approach which MBA programs take when evaluating applicants. You need to do the thinking, you need to come up with your own stories, you need to deeply think, what you learned from your experiences, but Bryan will always guide you how to put those stories together to form a beautiful symphony and complete your whole application package. The MBA application process was very tough, with proper guidance and advice, that process will definitely be much more easy, fun and meaningful. In my case, that proper guidance and advice source was Bryan. If I had to go over this application process again, I would choose Bryan with no doubt.

Bryan, I thank you for all your time, and efforts. You are my trusted counselor, and I hope to keep in touch and work together with you again.

col-center-n

Oxford

Wednesday, 8 April 2009

Hi Bryan,

“I made it to Oxford. This is one of the best accomplishments in my entire life. And I know that, without you, this was not even possible.” This is the exact message I sent you a minute after I received an admission offer from my ever-dreaming school, and it clearly shows how much trust we have built, to put it in simpler terms, how heavily I was relying on you.

To best describe your service, I cannot forget your first feedback to my first “international experience” essay draft. You said, “This essay will get you rejected in about two seconds. I understand your message and it’s valid, but you sound racist in this essay and not open to diversity at all, which is obviously not the message the school wants to hear.” Yes, the critique was harsh and outspoken, but definitely prevented me from making an irreparable and unintentional mistake.

Your counseling was sophisticated but bold. Once I had a chance to exchange essays and proof them with my colleague, another applicant using an online counseling service in Japan. (He struggled to get admitted to schools he sought for.) I realized a decisive strength in the essays we developed together. Ours were far more vivid with detailed stories, clearer with strong messages of “Why MBA”, and more consistent because the fundamental purpose of our essays was to show “who I am”, “what I want”, and “how I want to achieve it”. I believe this bold approach is the core strength of your service, sending most of your clients to their most wanted destination. It brings consistency to your clients in all forms from the application package, to essays, to interviews.

Overall, I feel privileged to have spent the whole MBA application process with you. We experienced many serious discussions, were distressed with my poor first drafts, and laughed a lot. These experiences will become the backbone of my life in Oxford and after. I wish you and your future clients great success in your great ambitions, too.

col-center-n

Harvard School of Public Health

(also accepted to the Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University)
Monday, 23 March 2009

Hello, Bryan. Thanks to you, I was able to complete my applications to schools of public health in the US with the best results I could have ever imagined. I remember emailing you to ask for help only a month and a half before the application deadlines. We met only a week later, and were able to finish the entire application process in less than a month. I really appreciate your commitment and your quick response to my questions and drafts I had prepared in a short period of time.

You not only supported me in writing and editing the SOPs for admission, but also helped me in clarifying my goals for graduate study at the schools which I applied to. With my career goals and path more obvious than ever from our discussion, it was quite easy for me to finish my SOPs. And I believe that this is what the review boards of Schools of Public Health are looking for: a strong and clear vision of leadership in the field of public health.

I highly recommend Bryan as a consultant for Masters of Public Health applications. It would be a worthwhile experience for all future applicants to discuss the true purpose and goals of your graduate study with him. Thank you again, Bryan, for your professional support.

col-center-n

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*